Today was so beautiful, I finally had the inspiration to do my spring flowerpot planting!  Of course, Jeffery the bulldog was excited to help.  Since I have so much shade around my house, only a few types of plants thrive.  After last year’s pathetic tomato debacle, followed by the bell pepper suicide, I have given up on veggies.  This year, I decided to try herbs and shade loving plants.  Namely, the hardy lavender and shade loving calla lilies.

Image

My planting gear — organic potting mix and plant food found at my local Lowe’s.

Image

Jeffery, my trusty assistant, inspects the lavender and two years ago impatiens. These impatiens (actually, I thought they were called “impatienTs, until I just googled them) surprised me last year by growing anew from what I thought were the dried out and dead remains.  I dug around in their pots just now and saw some new green shoots coming through, so maybe they will grow again this year! I added some plant food and loosened up the soil a bit, hopefully that’s all they need to “wake up”.

Image

These lovely lavender plants are already blooming, yay!  I’m hoping to keep these guys alive for many years.  Crossing my fingers.

Image

The new calla lily plant.  I’ve never grown lilies, so I’m hoping it will do well here in the shade of our garage.  Next to it is my 4 years old house plant (some type of broad leaf plant) and last year’s hosta.  Both of these perished, but I dug around in their pots and saw some new green shoots. I’m hoping they will decide to come back.

Image

Grow baby grow!

Are you planting now?  Just curious, does anyone else have too much shade in their yard?  What kinds of plants do you grow–that survive??

